Is There Milk in Guacamole?

Written by: Kelly Donovan

Anyone trying to cut milk out of their diets will know how careful you need to be – which means you’re probably wary of all sorts of foods. If guacamole is on the list, it’s not surprising.

Guacamole is usually free from milk because it’s made using avocado, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and chopped seasoning (e.g., cilantro, green pepper, etc.). That means it’s an ideal choice for vegans and vegetarians everywhere, but you should still check the ingredient list because some manufacturers add milk.

In this article, we’re going to explore why guacamole is usually free from milk and why it might not be.

Is There Milk in Guacamole?

Guacamole is usually free from milk. It is mostly made from avocado, which is mashed up and then flavored with things like cilantro and lemon juice to create a delicious, tangy, and very creamy dip.

This creaminess is part of why so many people get confused and think that guacamole must contain dairy – but in most recipes, the creaminess comes simply from the fact that the avocado itself is creamy.

That means this is an excellent recipe for people who miss this aspect of milk in their food.

OneGreenPlanet explains that this creaminess makes avocados a great substitute for dishes where you want to remove the milk or dairy.

They have a buttery, rich texture and flavor and are also considered pretty healthy, so don’t be afraid to use them in your recipes!

Despite all that, it is still important to check the ingredient list when buying ready-made guacamole because some manufacturers use milk to bump up the creaminess and improve the texture.

This is relatively rare but does happen.

bowl of guacamole on paper

Does Guacamole Contain Dairy?

You may already have guessed, but guacamole doesn’t usually contain other forms of dairy.

Most manufacturers rely on the fruit itself for the flavor and the texture.

However, it’s worth noting that some recipes do contain eggs.

Eggs aren’t dairy, but they make guacamole non-vegan.

Most guacamole will just have avocados and the other flavorings, but if in doubt, always check.

If you are eating guacamole at a restaurant, ensure you have asked the waiter or chef because restaurants might add milk or dairy to their guacamole to bump up the creaminess.

What If You Want Creamy Guacamole?

If you feel like guacamole needs extra creaminess, try adding some unsweetened soy milk or unsweetened almond milk to the recipe.

This might help to ensure that it tastes good if you are used to a dairy version of guacamole.

guacamole in clear bowl next to avocado with seed


Guacamole does not usually contain milk or dairy, but some people do add milk to the recipe to create particularly creamy batches.

Guacamole doesn’t need this, but it’s always a good idea to check, especially if you have a milk or dairy allergy.

If you’re making your own guacamole, try adding a plant-based alternative for extra creaminess.

About the Author

Kelly Donovan is a freelance writer. She enjoys helping people reach their wellness goals by educating them about how food plays a role in their health.