Is there Milk in Dole Whip?

Written by: Kelly Donovan

Whether planning a trip to Disney or just dreaming of a fruity frozen treat, Dole Whip might cross your mind. But you are probably wondering: is there milk in Dole Whip?

Dole Whip, also called Dole Soft Serve, is traditionally a completely dairy-free frozen dessert. Dole Whip uses a non-dairy soft serve mixture to create the iconic treat.

There you have it! Lactose-free foodies, come on in and join the Dole Whip party! Read on to learn about what makes this tasty treat so good and where you can find it.

Is There Milk in Dole Whip?

There are tons of Dole Whip varieties, and most Dole Whips do not contain milk. However, if you choose a non-fruit-based Dole Whip, such as vanilla or chocolate, it may have a milk byproduct in the flavoring.

Any fruit flavor swirled with vanilla will likely have the same milk byproduct as regular vanilla Dole Whip would contain.

However, the traditional fruit Dole Whip flavors, such as pineapple, never contains milk or milk byproducts.

Are There Any Other Dairy Products in Dole Whip?

Traditionally, there are no dairy products in Dole Whip.

However, sometimes soft serve ice cream is used to mix into the Dole Whip.

Disney parks, for example, will sometimes use vanilla ice cream to incorporate into particular dole whip desserts to add variety.

But regular Dole Whip is often made with a non-dairy soft serve to create its delicious creamy taste.

hand holding yellow dole whip

What Is the Dole Soft Serve mix?

The Dole Soft Serve mix is what makes up Dole Whip. It is a dry mixture that you add to water. You then pour the mixture into a soft serve machine to finish the process.

This dry mixture is dairy-free and helps create treats that are a little better for you than other frozen novelty snacks.

two hands holding dole whips

Where to Find Dole Whip?

Many people associate this dairy-free dessert with Disney parks. You can find a wide variety of Dole Whip treats throughout both Disneyland and Disney World.

The Dole Plantation in Oahu, Hawaii, also carries delicious Pineapple Dole Whip.

If you hope to find Dole Whip outside Disney parks or Hawaii, you are in luck! On top of attempting a copycat recipe, you can find Dole Whip at other locations, such as Menchies.

If you can’t find any of these locations near you but still want a delicious dairy-free treat, consider making this dairy free recipe from Bigger Bolder Baking!

Final Thoughts

Dole Whip is a completely dairy-free dessert, depending on the type you get. When shopping for a tasty dairy-free Dole Whip treat, get one not swirled with vanilla or chocolate soft serve. Enjoy!

About the Author

Kelly Donovan is a freelance writer. She enjoys helping people reach their wellness goals by educating them about how food plays a role in their health.