Is There Milk in Flour?

Written by: Kelly Donovan

Flour is one of the most commonly used ingredients in the world.

It's used for baking, as a thickener, a breading for fried foods, and even a way to make a surface less sticky. 

But if you're on a dairy-free diet, you may wonder, is there milk in flour?

There is no milk in flour. All flours are free from milk and are generally safe for those that can’t consume dairy.

Flour itself might not contain milk, but many foods made with flour do. In this article, we’ll look in-depth at the relationship between milk and flour.

Is There Milk in Flour?

There is no milk in flour. Flour is a milled grain, and milk is a product that comes from the mammary gland of animals.

Just like there are many types of milk, there are also numerous flour varieties.

The most common flour is wheat flour, but there are other options for those who can’t tolerate the gluten in wheat flour.

Even though flour is used to make many foods containing milk, flour itself never has milk in it.

chef sifting flour onto cutting board

Is All Purpose Flour Dairy Free?

Just like all other flours, all-purpose flour is dairy free.

All-purpose flour is a variety of flour made from both soft and hard milled grains.

It’s one of the most widely used flours and can be found in everything from cupcakes to pizza dough.

All-purpose flour is milk free, but so are all other types of flour. Some common flour varieties you might come across are:

  • Sprouted flour
  • Semolina flour
  • Rice flour
  • Almond flour

Does Gluten-Free Flour Contain Dairy?

Gluten-free flour does not contain dairy. Dairy products contain an enzyme called lactose, which is why people who can’t have dairy are “lactose-intolerant.”

Gluten-free flour can be made from many things, some of the most common:

Just like grain-based flour, gluten-free flour contains no dairy or milk products.

chef throwing flour on dough

Does Bread Contain Milk?

Some bread contains milk, while others do not.

Bread, one item that contains flour as the primary ingredient, can be confusing for people trying to avoid milk.

This is because some bread contains milk, while others do not.

For example, bread that you make at home may only contain ingredients like flour, yeast, salt, and water.

On the other hand, store-bought bread, especially dessert-type bread, often contains milk, whether liquid or powdered milk.

Some pieces of bread that do contain milk are brioche bread and croissants.

Final Thoughts

If you're wondering, "is there milk in flour?" the answer is a resounding "no!".

Milk is an ingredient that can be incredibly subtle, leading many people to question what everyday foods might contain it. Thankfully for those people that can’t consume dairy, flour of all sorts is milk-free and dairy free.

About the Author

Kelly Donovan is a freelance writer. She enjoys helping people reach their wellness goals by educating them about how food plays a role in their health.